Kentucky Counties Become Eligible for Additional Public Assistance in Recovery from December Storms and Tornadoes

FRANKFORT, Ky – The Presidential disaster declaration issued Dec. 12, 2021 for Kentucky was amended Jan. 6, 2022 to include Permanent Work under FEMA’s Public Assistance Program (PA), which supplements state and local recovery efforts. Seven additional counties have been added for Emergency Protective Measures.

Sixteen Kentucky counties designated earlier for FEMA Public Assistance after storms, flooding and tornadoes assaulted Western Kentucky on Dec. 10, 2021 are now eligible to apply for Permanent Work, Categories C-G. The affected counties are Caldwell, Christian, Fulton, Graves, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Logan, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Taylor, Todd, and Warren.

These 16 counties have previously been designated for FEMA Individual Assistance and assistance for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B), including direct federal assistance under the PA program.

The following seven counties have been newly designated for PA Emergency Protective Measures (Category B), including direct federal assistance: Barren, Breckenridge, Bullitt, Grayson, Meade, Shelby, and Spencer. These benefits assist with emergency operations such as sheltering and threats to public health and safety.

FEMA’s PA program reimburses counties, states, tribes, and certain nonprofit organizations for eligible costs of disaster-related debris removal, emergency protective measures and repair and, under the Permanent Work designation, replacement of disaster-damaged facilities, such as roads, bridges, public utilities, including water treatment and electrical plants, government buildings and parks.

For more information about Kentucky tornado recovery, visit Follow the FEMA Region 4 Twitter account at

Source link

Related Posts