Breaking News

General Officer Announcement > U.S. Department of Defense > Release Statement by Women’s Bureau Director Wendy Chun-Hoon on the US Supreme Court decision to overturn Roe v. Wade Women’s Advancement’s Statement Regarding the Overturn of Roe vs. Wade Little Rock AFB selected to host ANG C-130J Formal Training Unit > Air Force > Article Display NASA Awards Facilities Engineering Design, Inspection Services Contract FDA Roundup: June 24, 2022 Pennsylvania Commissions Condemn Supreme Court Decision, Remain Committed to Protecting the Right to Choose Chairman Maffei Addresses AgTC Annual Meeting – Federal Maritime Commission

MONTGOMERY, Ala., (March 16, 2022) — Alabama State Council on the Arts announces the names
of seven individuals that will be honored for their contributions to our
state’s rich cultural landscape during the 2022 Celebration of Alabama Arts
ceremony on Wednesday, May 18, 2022, at 7:00 pm.

The Celebration
of Alabama Arts
recognizes notable Alabamians for their work and
contribution to the arts in Alabama, across the United States, and beyond. The
efforts of artists, arts administrators, creative economy leaders, arts
educators, and stewards of traditional art forms across the state result in
prosperous communities. Alabama is strengthened when creativity and artistic
efforts thrive.

“These individuals represent the state’s immense artistic
talent, leadership, and generosity that are an integral part of the cultural
landscape of Alabama,” said Dr. Elliot Knight, executive director of the
Council on the Arts. “The 2022 honorees have contributed significantly to
defining our state’s creative community.”

The 2022 award recipients and categories follow:

  • Wes Chapman, ballet dancer/artistic director from Birmingham – Governor’s Arts Award
  • Jason Ferdinand,
    conductor/composer from Huntsville – Governor’s Arts Award
  • Clifton Pearson,
    visual artist from Huntsville – Governor’s Arts Award
  • Mary Settle Cooney,
    arts administrator from Sheffield – Jonnie Dee Riley Little Lifetime
    Achievement Award
  • Patty McDonald,
    arts patron from Birmingham (posthumous award) – Albert B. Head Legacy
  • Stanley Smith,
    Sacred Harp singer/composer from Ozark – Alabama Folk Heritage Award
  • David
    , musician from Muscle Shoals – Alabama Distinguished
    Artist Award

contributions of these remarkable individuals will be recognized with memorable
performances in their honor. The free event will be held at Alabama Shakespeare
Festival in Montgomery, with Tonya Terry hosting. Complimentary tickets must be
reserved in advance through the ASF box office. Visit or call 334-271-5353 for ticketing
details and to learn more about this exciting


Alabama State Council on the Arts

The Council on the Arts is the official state
agency for the support and development of the arts in Alabama. The Council
works to expand and preserve the state’s cultural resources by supporting
nonprofit arts organizations, schools, colleges, units of local government, and
individual artists. Arts programs, assisted by Council grants, have a track
record of enhancing community development, education, cultural tourism, and
overall quality of life in all regions of the state. Alabama State Council on the Arts grants are
made possible by an annual appropriation from the Alabama Legislature and
additional funds from the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal
agency. Learn more at 


Press contact: 

Perri Hubbard

Communications & Public Relations

Source link