Breaking News

New BLOS capability on the horizon for B-52s, first IRIS air demo complete > Air Force > Article Display Man dies following rescue attempts after being pulled from American Canal in El Paso, Texas CBP to nominate Ian Saunders for Secretary General of the World Customs Organization Governor Walz Takes Executive Action to Protect Reproductive Health Care in Minnesota Gov. Wolf Applauds President’s Signing of Gun Violence Package GSK presents promising new data for bepirovirsen, an investigational treatment for chronic hepatitis B Air Force selects future aircrew helmet > Air Force > Article Display Administrator Samantha Power’s Participation at Pride@USAID: Accelerating LGBTQI+ Inclusive Development Event | Readout

National Governors Association Chair Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson and National Governors Association Vice Chair New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy released the following statement on the formation of a bipartisan working group that will study and make recommendations designed to combat gun violence and provide families confidence in the safety of their communities, and in particular, their schools:

“Every state is unique, but we can all agree that there are commonsense ways to keep our schools and communities safe in a manner consistent with the demands of the American people. The nation’s Governors are committed to working together on solutions that reflect the characteristics of our states – doing everything in our collective power to protect our communities. As Congress considers a bipartisan legislative framework, Governors are coming together to make recommendations and identify solutions that give state and local leaders effective tools designed to combat gun violence and instill confidence in our communities and schools.”

Governors Hutchinson and Murphy wrote to President Biden June 9 advising him on the establishment of the bipartisan working group. The working group will consider state-based solutions on a variety of priorities, including those contained in the Senate framework, such as enhancing school and community based mental health services, improving school safety resources, and working to keep firearms out of the hands of those who may cause harm to themselves or others.

The following Governors will participate in the working group on behalf of all 55 states and territories:

  • Governor Asa Hutchinson (AR)
  • Governor Phil Murphy (NJ)
  • Governor Spencer Cox (UT)
  • Governor Larry Hogan (MD)
  • Governor Kathy Hochul (NY)
  • Governor Ned Lamont (CT)
  • Governor Henry McMaster (SC)
  • Governor Gretchen Whitmer (MI)

Source link